Annual Department Awards


Each year, near the end of spring semester, our department's faculty select outstanding religion majors to be recognized for their academic performance or co-curricular service. The awards that these majors receive are named in honor of former faculty. Each award comes with a modest financial prize.

Medallion depicting a trophy cup and laurel branchesHarold O. Forshey Award

Given for outstanding overall academic achievement--not only in the study of religion but in the student's undergraduate work overall.

2019: Margaret Hamm
2018: Kelsi Sievering
2017: Owen Walsh
2016: Alexa Ekberg
2015: Katie Poppe

Medallion depicting steeples of a church, a stupa, and a mosqueNewell S. Booth, Jr. Award

Given for excellence in comparative religion--the student's work within the religion major.

2019: Alexandra Boster
2018: Brian Mashny
2017: Mary Hayes
2016: Sarah Manning and Katie Poppe
2015: Marjorie Wimbish Sopher

Medallion depicting an open scrollRoy Bowen Ward Award

Given for excellence in biblical studies--a subfield within the study of religion.

2019: Sarah Kingsbury
2018: Jake Besanceney
2017: Samantha Gauer
2016: Not awarded
2015: Tori Gegel

Medallion depicting the Miami M with the words: Religion at MiamiAlan Miller Award

Given for outstanding student service to the department--such as leadership in CRSA or contributions to department programs.

2019: Bianca Oviedo
2018: Alexandra Boster
2017: Kelsi Sievering
2016: Sarah Kammer
2015: Jackie Wagner