Lecture Series

Spring 2019/2020 Lecture Series

Departmental Seminar Series: Unless otherwise stated, seminars are held at 4:25 pm in room 152 Shideler Hall.  Contact Cathy Edwards at 513-529-3216 or edwardca@miamioh.edu if you have any questions.

Monday, February 3, 2020

Hannah Pigg (Center for Career Exploration & Success, Miami University)
Career Preparation Discussion

Monday, February 10, 2020

Patri Larrea Marquez 
"Monogenetic volcanoes in Mexico:  Origin and relevance for volcanic hazards

Monday, February 17, 2020**

Meenakshi Wadhwa (Arizona State University)
"Rocks from Space:  Tales of Life and Death"

Tuesday, February 18, 2020 - Room 002 Upham - 11:40 AM

Meenakshi Wadhwa (Arizona State University)
"Insights into the origin and evolution of the Solar System from short-lived radionuclides in meteorites"

Monday, February 24, 2020

Andrea Erhardt (University of Kentucky)
"The geochemistry of carbonate hardground cements as potential recorders of the past seawater chemistry"

Monday, March 2, 2020

Lindsey Leighton (University of Alberta, Canada)
"The changing shape of Paleozoic predation"

Monday, March 9, 2020

Jared Freiburg (University of Illinois @ Urbana-Champaign)
"Geological carbon storage at the Illinois Basin-Decatur Project."

Monday, March 16, 2020

Shelby Summes & Hannah Pigg (Center for Career Exploration & Success, Miami University) 
Career Preparation Discussion

Monday, March 30, 2020

Silvia Newell (Wright State University)
"Nitrogen cycling in eutrophic lakes as a driver of harmful algal blooms."

Monday, April 6, 2020

Brian Horton (University of Texas)
"The sedimentary record of Andean mountain building"

Monday, April 20, 2020

Lynda Williams (Arizona State University)
Natural antibacterial clays:  in vitro and in vivo"

Monday, April 27, 2020

Chuck Job (The Groundwater Association)
"Practical Groundwater Problems:  Geoscience and Economics Intersect"

Monday, May 4, 2020

Christopher Atchison (University of Cincinnati)
"Moving beyond tradition:  Rethinking field-based teaching and learning in the geosciences"

**18th Annual Baldwin Frontiers in Geology Lecture

Notice:
If you would like to be added to our seminar notice mailing list, please contact Cathy Edwards by phone at 513-529-3216 or via email: edwardca@MiamiOh.edu.