Marjorie Post Farrington Scholarship

This $1,000 scholarship will be awarded for the academic year to a full-time graduate student in any area of study. The award is based primarily on merit and secondarily on financial need. Financial need must be established and the student must be eligible to file the FAFSA. 

The student who is selected may also be appointed to a graduate assistantship or teaching associateship, no service responsibilities will be required of the recipient. Selection of the recipients is made by the Graduate Council, Student Financial Aid Committee.

  • Applicants must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 (at Miami University) and be admitted to and pursuing full-time graduate study at Miami University.
  • Applicants must complete a FAFSA and demonstrate financial need.
  • Applicants are to prepare a letter summarizing their academic background and achievements, cite evidence of interests, accomplishments, and potential for leadership in an academic area and/or professional field of graduate study.
  • Applicants must send three letters of recommendation from current or past professors, employers, or supervisors. Recommenders should comment on the applicant's academic achievements and potential for leadership and send their letters directly to
  • Applications are due no later than Friday, April 2, 2021 by 5:00 PM EST.

Announcement of the award will be made by the end of April. The recipient will be expected to hold at least 9 graduate credit hours each semester, and to progress normally toward degree requirements.

2019-2020 Scholarship Winners

Keelin Haynes - Geography

Macie Petrich - Speech Pathology & Audiology

2018-2019 Scholarship Winners

Morgan Cody - Educational Psychology

Dorian Dodd - Psychology

2017-2018 Scholarship Winners

Katharine Amelia Alexander - Kinesiology & Health

Anne E. Kalomiris - Psychology

Catlyn Waltemire - Educational Psychology

2016-2017 Scholarship Winners

Emily Paige Lloyd - Psychology

Lee Eshelman - Psychology

2015-2016 Scholarship Winner

Lindsay Mosher, Biology - Global Field Program

2014-2015 Scholarship Winners

Patrick Garrett, Ecology, Evolution, & Environmental Biology

Z Nicolazzo, Student Affairs & Higher Education

Dustin Harris, Kinesiology & Health

2013-2014 Scholarship Winners

Kerry Hankins, Speech Pathology & Audiology

Claire Kunesh, Educational Psychology

Kate McKenzie, Music

2012-2013 Scholarship Winner

Celeste Didlick-Davis, Educational Leadership