Department Name Change

According to Article II, Section 5 of the Regulations of the Board of Trustees, “An academic department is an administrative unit established to combine the various offerings of a particular academic discipline or area of knowledge. The number and designation of such departments shall be determined by the President, subject to approval by the Board.”

Requests for name changes to academic departments (or programs) and/or divisions, after consultation with the relevant parties, are reported on the University Senate consent calendar and require the approval of the following bodies: department chair (program director, if appropriate), academic dean of the division, and Provost.

For more information, please see Departmental and Divisional Governance.

Once the name change has been approved by all of the necessary Miami bodies or persons, a change request must also be submitted to the Ohio Department of Higher Education.