Rakovan Award Announcement

Professor John Rakovan is the 2021 Honorary Award recipient from the Eastern Federation of Mineralogical and Lapidary Societies for the AFMS Scholarship Foundation. John has nominated graduate students Stephanie Mounce and Calvin Anderson to be the recipients of the AFMS Scholarship. Stephanie is working on calcite and fluorite melt inclusions in apatite crystals from vein-dikes of the Grenville province and what they tell us about those deposits. Calvin has been working on the mechanism of wire silver growth and the resulting isotope chemistry. He and colleagues discovered what may be a previously unrecognized mechanism for isotope enrichment.  Congratulations to all of you!


Rakovan-Mounce Award
Ms. Stephanie Mounce, in the field, Bancroft, Canada

 Rakovan-Anderson Award
Mr. Calvin Anderson