Graduate Students

crankKevin Crank

I am from Kansas City, MO and earned a B.S. in History from the United States Naval Academy. He graduated with a commission as a Surface Warfare Officer and has deployed to the Western Pacific and the Arabian Gulf serving aboard USS John Paul Jones (DDG 53) and USS Whirlwind (PC 11). He is currently assigned to Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps (NROTC) Unit Miami University as an Assistant Professor of Naval Science and is seeking his Master’s in Early American Naval History.


Louis GrunLouis Grün

I was born and raised in the tiny Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg. I attended the University of Luxembourg and earned a Bachelor's degree in European Culture and English Studies.In the fall of 2017 I completed a semester at Miami University as part of my exchange program. I am mainly interested in the First and Second World War and the Interwar period but I also enjoy learning about feudal Japanese and Chinese history and the Renaissance as well as Luxembourgish history.In my free time I enjoy playing soccer, watching movies, gaming and traveling. I also love cheese and trying new kinds of food.


elginWill Elgin

I was born and raised in Worthington, Ohio. In 2019 I earned a BA in History with a minor in Political Science from Miami University. The period of history I will be studying as a Graduate Student will be the Spanish Empire in the Early Modern period and its Habsburg dynasty, from the years 1500-1700. The rise and fall of both that particular family as well as Spanish ascendency within Europe is of great interest to me. When I am not working, I am probably reading anything from fantasy to alternate history, gaming, or traveling.


Nathaniel HieberPaida Hakutangwi

Paida Hakutangwi, I was born in Harare, Zimbabwe. I obtained a Bachelor of Arts (Health Sciences and Social Services) specializing in Community and Health Psychology, an Honors Bachelor of Arts specializing is Social Behavior Studies in HIV/AIDs from the University of South Africa and a Master of Science in Psychology from the Open University in the United Kingdom. My current interests are mainly in understanding African feminism from a historical perspective. My historical period of interest is the 20th century. I am a regular long distance runner who loves exploring nature with my two dogs.                                                                                                                          


Nathaniel HieberNathaniel Hieber

I was born and raised in the town of Sugar Grove, OH. I attended Miami University and graduated in the spring of 2019 as a member of Miami's History Honor's Cohort with a Bachelors in History and a minor in Art History. My historical period of interest lies in the time frame from 1850-1950, with specific areas of interest including the World Wars, the interwar period, and the American Civil War. However, I also enjoy learning about ancient Roman and Greek History. In my free time, I enjoy reading, writing short science fiction and historical fiction stories and biking.


knuthHaley Knuth

Haley Knuth is a first-year graduate student with the History Department. After graduating from Wright State University in Dayton with a BFA and a Minor in German in 2018, she has decided to pursue an education in Public History, with Colonial America, specifically the role of women and of German immigrants, as an area of focus. A Cincinnati native, Haley developed her love of museums from an early age at the Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, as well as the Cincinnati Art Museum, and she hopes to work at a museum after graduation.


madesenBre Maden

I was born in Wyoming, but raised in Denver Colorado. I received my BA in Africana Studies from Metropolitan State University of Denver. My primary focus is understanding how custom works to circumvent policy in order to maintain and perpetuate racial inequity. Outside of my studies, I enjoy visiting museums, attending documentary screenings for independent films and practicing yoga.


mcloughlinAlly McLoughlin

I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and raised in Northern Kentucky. I graduated undergrad in Spring 2019. I earned my Bachelors in History and Political Science from Miami University. My historical interests mostly lie in the Antebellum era. I am interested in racial and class issues from this time period, as well as the history of higher education. In my free time I enjoy watching scary movies, following politics, and spending time with my friends!


Mina ParkSam Purkiss

My name is Sam Purkiss and I am a first-year master's student! I was born and raised in Loveland, Ohio and I attended Miami University where I graduated in 2020 with a BA in History and Film Studies. My current research interests lie in the history of American theatre (especially musicals) and gender studies. In my free time, I enjoy watching movies, playing video games with friends, and playing Dungeons & Dragons


Ben SusmanHarley Walls

I was born and raised in New Castle, Indiana. In Spring of 2020 I earned a BA in History with minors in Spanish and Writing from Anderson University in Anderson, Indiana. For my graduate research, I am interested in American History in the 1960s and 1970s, particularly the Vietnam War and the Peace Movement. Some of my favorite subtopics include college protests in the Midwest, the conflict in the Ia Drang Valley, as well as the everyday lives of GIs in Vietnam. When I'm not working, I enjoy traveling with my parents and two younger brothers, spending time with my cats Anakin and Obi-Wan, jamming to Taylor Swift, and watching documentaries or 80s rom-coms.