News RSS Feed

Major Insight Episode 21 The Path to Become a Strong Student Leader
Featured Majors: Black World Studies, Diversity and Leadership
Stats + Stories podcasts wins national award
Miami University’s seven-year-old Stats + Stories podcast won the national 2021 communications award from the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics. The podcast works to “explain data and statistics to a broader audience,” said Richard Campbell, professor emeritus and founding chair of the Department of Media, Journalism & Film. The podcast is a collaboration between Campbell; John Bailer, chair of the Department of Statistics; and Rosemary Pennington, assistant professor of journalism in MJF, designed to explore statistics behind stories and stories behind statistics.
Carolyn S. Craig joins CAS as director of diversity, equity, inclusion & belonging
The College of Arts and Science is excited to welcome Carolyn S. Craig to the dean's staff as their new director of diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging. Craig has worked at Miami University since 2015 and is credentialed as both a certified diversity professional (CDP) and an advanced certified cultural intelligence professional (ACCQP).
Miami Career Center set to host virtual career and internship fair
On September 9-11, Miami's Center for Career Exploration & Success (CCES) will be hosting three days of virtual career fairs for students to attend. Each fair, hosted on Handshake, will take place from 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm.
Miami professor gives Chautauqua Institution lecture series commemorating women's suffrage
August 18, 2020 marked the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, which guaranteed women the right to vote. To commemorate this date, Kimberly A. Hamlin has been conducting a discussion-oriented 3-part master class on the history of women's suffrage and women’s rights in the United States, hosted by the Chautauqua Institution.
Psychology department chair discusses the connection between pets and wellness on latest Stats and Stories podcast
Miami's long-running Stats and Stories podcast, now in its 8th year, recently interviewed University Distinguished Professor and chair of psychology Allen McConnell about his research on the well-being benefits of socially constructed relationships with family and pets.
Oxford Observer launches first fundraising effort
The Journalism Program of the Department of Media, Journalism & Film has launched its first-ever fundraising campaign for the two-year-old Oxford Observer ( The Observer, staffed by journalism students and overseen by members of the Journalism Program faculty, provides a free, weekly online source of information about the city of Oxford and surrounding area.
MJF statement on racist violence
The faculty and staff of the Department of Media, Journalism & Film stand in solidarity with Black communities across the country and with the Black Lives Matter movement. They have released a statement condemning acts of racist violence as well as violations of the First Amendment rights of citizens and journalists at recent protests. Department faculty and staff are also committing to a series of actions to work toward racial justice in MJF and at Miami University.
Generation COVID: Film studies students turn their quarantine experiences into a documentary
In mid-March when Miami students were informed that all spring classes would be taught remotely and they would have to move off campus, students in Andy Rice's documentary film production class agreed to work collaboratively on a film about the impact of COVID-19 on the students' lives.