Scholarships and Awards

Highly qualified students entering Miami University and majoring in physics, biological physics, or engineering physics are eligible for Frische Scholarships. These scholarships are merit-based, and no additional forms are required. The Starkey Family Physics Scholarship is also awarded to incoming freshmen based on merit and financial need. No additional forms are required.

For other information regarding financial aid, please refer to the Office of Student Financial Assistance.

Majors entering their sophomore, junior, and senior years are eligible for several different scholarships. Awards are based on academic performance and no additional forms are required. These include:

  • George and Carolyn Arfken Scholarship
  • George Arfken Physics Award
  • Andrew W. Bylenga Scholarship
  • Carol Jo Crannell Physics Scholarship
  • J. A. Culler Physics Prize
  • R. L. Edwards Scholarship
  • Ray Edwards Physics Award
  • James and Carole Garland Scholarship
  • Raymond M. Hughes Memorial Scholarship
  • Glenn and Betty Julian Student Teaching Award
  • Dr. Benjamin Lee Memorial Scholarship
  • Philip and Cora Macklin Scholarship
  • Mary Jean and Joseph R. Priest Scholarship
  • William Shoupp Memorial Scholarship
  • John and Genny Snider Scholarship