Per Bloland, Composition / Technology

Associate Professor

111 Presser Hall
(513) 529-0584

DMA Music Composition, Stanford
MM Music Composition, University of Texas at Austin
BA Psychology, University of Michigan

Per BlolandPer Bloland is a composer of acoustic and electroacoustic music whose works have been praised by The New York Times as “lush, caustic,” and “irresistible.” His compositions range from short intimate solo pieces to works for large orchestra, incorporate video, dance, and custom electronics, and often draw on a variety of other art forms. He is interested particularly in the intersections between literature and music, especially regarding issues of modernity in both disciplines.

Prior to his appointment to the Miami University music faculty as Assistant Professor of Music (Music Technology), Bloland was a member of the in the TIMARA (Technology In Music And Related Arts) Department at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music as Visiting Assistant Professor of Computer Music. He served as the founding director of the Oberlin Improvisation and Newmusic Collective (OINC), an ensemble dedicated to the performance and study of trans-idiomatic improvisation. Before Oberlin, he taught at UC Santa Cruz, Stanford University, and the University of Texas.

Bloland received his D.M.A. in composition from Stanford University, where he studied with Mark Applebaum, Brian Ferneyhough, Chris Chafe, and Erik Ulman. His master’s of music degree is from the University of Texas at Austin, where he acted as the Electronic Music Studios (EMS) Manager, and studied with Kevin Puts, Russell Pinkston, and Bruce Pennycook.

Bloland has received awards and recognition from national and international organizations, including SEAMUS/ASCAP, Digital Art Awards of Tokyo, ISCM, the Eastman Computer Music Center, SCI/ASCAP, the Dal Niente Composer Competition, Taukay Edizioni Musicali, and the Accademia Musicale Pescarese. He has received commissions from the East Coast Contemporary Ensemble (ECCE), Ensemble Pi, the Callithumpian Consort, Insomnio Ensemble, CCRMA (the Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics), SEAMUS/ASCAP, the Kenners, and Michael Straus. His music can be heard on the TauKay (Italy), Capstone, Spektral, and SEAMUS labels, and through the MIT Press.