Distinguished Scholar and Junior Faculty Scholar Awards announced

by Susan Meikle and Margo Kissell, university news and communications

Miami University Distinguished Scholar Awards for 2015 have been presented to William Boone, professor of educational psychology; Stacey Lowery Bretz, University Distinguished Professor of chemistry and biochemistry; and LuMing Mao, chair and professor of English and Asian/Asian American studies.

Distinguished Scholar Awards honor faculty whose sustained excellence in research or other creative activity has brought them prominence in their fields.

Miami University Junior Faculty Scholar Awards have been presented to Per Bloland, assistant professor of music; Elizabeth Kiel, assistant professor of psychology; and Byran Smucker, assistant professor of statistics.

Junior Faculty Scholar Awards honor faculty who have demonstrated great potential in research or artistry and have achieved significant standing in their fields. Candidates for the Junior Faculty Scholar Award must have received their highest degree no more than eight years before the time of nomination.

The scholars, named by the committee on faculty research (CFR), each receive a $2,000 grant for the pursuit of further research. They were announced at the Faculty Assembly Sept. 22.

Read more about the three Distinguished Scholars on Miami Moments.

Applied and Natural Sciences:  Stacey Lowery Bretz.

Business, Education and Social Sciences:  William Boone.

Humanities and Creative Arts:  LuMing Mao.

Read more about the Junior Faculty Scholars on Miami Moments.

Applied and Natural Sciences: Byran Smucker.

Business, Education and Social Sciences: Elizabeth Kiel.

Humanities and Creative Arts: Per Bloland.