Beloved Miami Art Educator Leaves Lasting Legacy for the College of Creative Arts


Crossan Hays Curry, 1924 - 2019.

In 1994, the College of Creative Arts received a substantial endowment from John and Jean Ervasti to establish an annual award to recognize a distinguished educator in the College of Creative Arts. The endowment is named for Professor Emeritus Crossan Hays Curry, a former faculty member in the Department of Art, who was greatly admired by students for his teaching and his art making. Mr. Curry passed away on Tuesday, June 26, 2019.

The College of Creative Arts would like to thank Crossan Hays Curry for this lasting legacy of dedication to the arts and arts education. 

After teaching art at Miami University for nearly 35 years, Curry and his wife continued to be active members of the Oxford, Oh community where he regularly attended the local Farmer's Market to share his other passion: farming. 

Recipients of the Crossan Hays Curry Distinguished Educators Award include Diane Fellows (2021), Siok Lian Tan (2020), Glenn Platt (2019), Rod Northcutt (2018), Gary A. Speck (2017), Pepper Stetler (2016), Murali Paranandi (2015), Harvey Thurmer (2013), Tom Effler (2012), Robert Benson (2011), Julia Guichard (2010), Sara Butler (2009), Chris Tanner (2008), Sandra Seefeld (2007), John Reynolds (2006), Brenda Mitchell (2005), Jim Killy (2004), Mary Harris (2003), Michele Gingras (2002), Steven Shumway (2001), Peg Faimon (2000), John Weigand (1999), Clive Getty (1998), William Albin (1997), Tom Dutton (1996), and Crossan Hays Curry (1995). 

Crossan Hays Curry Obituary>>