Statement Regarding the Recent Acts of Violence

May 30, 2020

Once again, we find ourselves grieving the unjust and senseless loss of life and recent acts of violence against African Americans across our nation. Miami University stands in solidarity with other higher education institutions and all who unequivocally condemn hatred, racism, bigotry, violence, intimidation, and any other attempt to divide us. We deeply mourn these deaths, most recently George Floyd. Our hearts and thoughts go out to all who suffer under these acts, to our communities, and to our nation.  

  • Gregory Crawford, President
  • Renate Crawford, University Ambassador
  • Jason Osborne, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • David Creamer, Senior Vice President for Finance and Business Services 
  • Tom Herbert, Senior Vice President for University Advancement
  • Jayne Brownell, Vice President for Student Life
  • James T. Oris, Vice President for Research and Innovation
  • Ronald B. Scott, Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Inclusion
  • David Seidl, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Office
  • David Sayler, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Brent Shock, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success
  • Randi Malcolm Thomas, Esq., Director of Institutional Relations
  • Robin Parker, General Counsel
  • Ted Pickerill, Secretary to the Board of Trustees and Executive Assistant to the President
  • Dawn Tsirelis, Assistant to the President
  • Cathy Bishop-Clark, Dean, College of Liberal arts and Applied Science
  • Jerome Conley, University Librarian and Dean, University Libraries 
  • Michael Dantley, Dean College of Education, Health, and Society
  • Marek Dollár, Dean, College of Engineering and Computing
  • Chris Makaroff, Dean, College of Arts and Science
  • Elizabeth Mullenix, Dean, College of Creative Arts
  • Marc Rubin, Dean, Farmer School of Business
  • Rose Marie Ward, interim Dean, Graduate School
  • Kimberly Moore, Dean of Students
  • Michael Crowder, incoming Dean, Graduate School, and incoming interim Vice President for Research and Innovation
  • Jenny Darroch, incoming Dean, Farmer School of Business
  • Beena Sukumaran, incoming Dean, College of Engineering and Computing