Economics professors win Howe Center writing award

Janice Kinghorn and Ling Shao headshots

Farmer School economics professors Janice Kinghorn and Ling Shao are the first FSB faculty to win the team award of the Roger & Joyce Howe Award for Excellence in Disciplinary Writing Instruction from the Howe Center for Writing Excellence at Miami University.

The award honors individuals or teams of faculty who have made concerted and continuing efforts to innovate writing instruction in their disciplines. It additionally recognizes applicant efforts to ensure their students have multiple opportunities to write across their educational experiences.

Kinghorn and Shao won “for the extensive and ongoing work you have done to engage your colleagues in recognizing the diversity of their writing practices and to infuse them across the economics curriculum,” Howe Center director Elizabeth Wardle said.

Winners receive professional development funds that can be used for travel, books, technology, or other purposes. Kinghorn and Shao will split $3,000.