Faculty Award for Innovation in Global Programming

Among his many accomplishments, John E. Dolibois former Vice President for University Relations helped to establish Miami’s first study abroad program in Luxembourg in 1968. Upon retiring from his 34 year career at Miami, he was appointed the United States ambassador to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (1981-1985).  In 1987, the Luxembourg center was renamed the Miami University John E. Dolibois European Center.  This award honors his memory and will be announced annually in November during International Education Week.

Award Criteria

This award is specifically designated for faculty-led study abroad, away, or virtual programming that exemplifies a majority of the following criteria. While a faculty member’s research, collegiality, and professional reputation are both important and respected, unless directly related to the study abroad, away, or virtual global program(s) they lead or helped to develop, they do not fall within the criteria for this award.

  • Creative, innovative, and impactful program design, combining rigorous academic study with effective use of program location, resources, and/or technology
  • Learning objectives focused on increasing intercultural competency
  • Effective integration of the program in curriculum of the department and/or division
  • Considerations for program accessibility and diversity of participants

Additional Consideration:

  • Assists department or division in advancing study abroad, away or virtual programming or partnerships

Please note, nominations from students or Global Initiatives staff will not be considered. Former awardees are not eligible for this award.

Nominate a Colleague

Note: Student nominations will not be considered.

Submission Deadline

October 15, 2021

Past Award Recipients

  • 2021 - Dr. David Shrider, Associate Professor of Finance, Director of Global Business Initiatives (awarded posthumously)
  • 2020 - No award due to COVID-19
  • 2019 - Dr. Martha E. Castañeda, Professor of Foreign Language Education, Department of Teacher Education*
  • 2018 - Dr. Sooun Lee, Professor of Information Systems and Analytics
  • 2017 - Dr. James Shiveley, Condit Professor, Department of Teacher Education*
  • 2016 - Dr. Jeong-Hoi Koo, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • 2015 - Ms. Nohelia Rojas-Miesse, Senior Lecturer, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

*Department name changed to Department of Teaching, Curriculum, and Educational Inquiry, 2022)