Grants to Support Research in Social Justice, Human Rights, Diversity, and Inclusion

NOTE: The deadline to submit an application for the 2016-2017 academic year has passed. In the 2017-2018 academic year, these grants will be supported as a special category in the regular Committee on Faculty Research grants cycle.

As part of broader university-wide diversity and inclusion efforts, the Office of the President and the Office for the Advancement of Research and Scholarship (OARS) have issued a special call for proposals to conduct research, scholarship, or creative activities in the areas of social justice, human rights, diversity, and inclusion. Proposals may be submitted in any of these areas, but must address a scholarly question that will lead to testable objectives or measurable outcomes.

Full-time, tenured and tenure-eligible faculty, librarians (continuing contract and continuing contract-eligible), and faculty-mentored undergraduate and graduate students are eligible to submit a proposal for funding. Lecturers and clinical and professionally licensed (LCPL) faculty may submit proposals for projects focused on the scholarship of teaching. Individual faculty may request up to $5,000, and faculty-mentored students may request up to $2,500 in professional expense funds to conduct the proposed project. Interdisciplinary teams of three or more faculty or faculty-mentored students may request up to $15,000 (faculty) or $7,500 (students).

Project periods should cover one or two academic semesters, excluding Winter Term. Higher levels of consideration will be given to proposals that show evidence of outcomes that will lead to scholarly presentations, publications, performances, or exhibitions and/or to the submission of grant proposals to external funding agencies or foundations.

Read the program guidelines here.

Contact us: Grants to Support Research in Social Justice, Human Rights, Diversity, and Inclusion

Ron Scott
Associate Vice President for Institutional Diversity
211 Roudebush Hall

Jim Oris
Associate Provost for Research and Scholarship
102 Roudebush Hall