Today, as we see the effects of urban sprawl growing closer to Oxford, we give thanks to the vision of former President, Paul Pearson, the continuing support of the Board of Trustees, the ongoing conservation efforts of the Bachelor Reserve and Other Areas Committee and the donors whose gifts made this greenbelt sanctuary a reality.

Bachelor Reserve and Other Natural Areas Committee

This Committee, chaired by Dr. Thomas Crist, reports to the President of the University and is responsible for oversight and management of the Natural Areas. 

Committee Members

  • Tom Crist, Professor and Chair, Department of Biology (Chair)
  • Michelle Boone, Associate Professor of Biology
  • Amanda Bentley Brymer, Curator of Silvoor Biological Sanctuary
  • Hardy Eshbaugh, Professor Emeritus
  • Melany Fisk, Professor of Biology
  • Sam Fitton, Retired Biologist, Bureau of Land Management, and alumnus (Vice Chair)
  • David Gorchov, Professor of Biology
  • Jack Keegan, Greenhouse Manager
  • Nancy Feakes, Field Manager of the Natural Areas System
  • Ann Rypstra, Professor of Biology and Director of Ecology Research Center
  • John Seibert, Director of Planning, Architecture and Engineering
  • Steve Sullivan, Director of the Hefner Museum of Natural History
  • Holly Wissing, Co-Curator of Butterfly Gardens