Leadership Honor Societies

Students interacting at MegaFair

Wilks provides oversight and advising for Omicron Delta Kappa. 

Omicron Delta Kappa: The National Leadership Honor Society

Omicron Delta Kappa wreath logo

Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK), was founded December 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage the development of general campus citizenship.

Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated over 300,000 members.

The Society recognizes achievement in the following five areas:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Campus or Community Service, Social or Religious Activities and Campus Government
  • Journalism, Speech and the Mass Media
  • Creative and Performing Arts

The Miami Alpha Sigma Circle of ODK was originally chartered from 1934 until 1998. In February of 2014, a group of campus student leaders successfully re-chartered the Circle at Miami. View the Omicron Delta Kappa Hub site or contact odk@MiamiOH.edu for more information.