Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee reports to the President. Membership comprises representatives from academics, operations, and residence life. The Committee is chaired or co-chaired by a faculty member.

Student representation includes standing membership for the Associated Student Government Sustainability Chair, a member of the student organization Green Oxford, and an IES graduate program student, among others. Miami's Director of Sustainability is a standing member.

The Sustainability Committee seeks input from the following audiences:

  • Miami's Chief Investment and Treasury Officer
  • Oxford and regional community
  • Students, staff, and faculty
  • Alumni
  • Network of regional and state colleges and university sustainability committees and directors.


The Sustainability Committee meets monthly during the academic year, generally on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 8 a.m. 

During the coronavirus pandemic, the committee has been meeting virtually and will continue to meet virtually through at least the summer and fall of 2020.

2020-2021 AY Sustainability Committee Co-Chairs

  • Helaine Alessio, chair and professor of kinesiology;
  • Suzanne Zazycki, MEn, JD, associate director of the Institute for the Environment and Sustainability;

Miami's Geothermal Heat Exchange Facility

The Geothermal Heat Exchange Facility invites visitors to look through its windows or to schedule a group tour.