Lecture Series

Fall 2022 Lecture Series

Departmental Seminar Series: Unless otherwise stated, seminars are held at 4:25 pm.  NOTE:  this year's seminar series will be a mix of in-person and virtual due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. Contact Gail Burger at 513-529-8183 or burgerge@miamioh.edu for information about accessing the talks.

Monday, August 22, 2022 - 152 Shideler 

Jeff Johnston (M.U. Environmental Health & Safety)
Lab safety presentation

Monday, August 29, 2022 - 152 Shideler and via Zoom

Buchanan Kerswell (Miami University, Geology)
"Computational approaches to understanding subduction zone geodynamics, surface heat flow, and the metamorphic rock record"

Monday, September 12, 2022 - 152 Shideler and via Zoom

Carlos Peredo (Miami University, Biology)
"Mammals in the water: how a marine environment drives the evolution of mammalian feeding"

Monday, September 19, 2022 - 152 Shideler and via Zoom

Tim Fisher (University of Toledo)
"Constraining lake level history of glacial Lake Agassiz"

Monday, September 26, 2022 - via Zoom - CANCELLED

Chiara Elmi (James Madison University)
"Mineral reactivity in natural systems"

Monday, October 3, 2022 - via Zoom

Charles Job (National Groundwater Association)
TBD

Monday, October 10, 2022

Geological Society of America Meeting in Denver, CO

Monday, October 17, 2022 - room 152 SHD and via Zoom       

Susanne Straub (Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory)
"Tracing in-situ mantle wedge depletion in the TransMexican Volcanic Belt by fostering olivine and Cr-spinel"

Monday, October 24, 2022 - via Zoom

Kurt Konhauser (University of Alberta, Canada)
"Acid weathering, clay transport and enhanced nutrient supply to early Paleoproterozoic oceans"

Monday, October 31, 2022 - via Zoom

Martha Gilmore (Wesleyan University)
"Radiophysical Properties of Venusian Highlands"


Monday, November 7, 2022 - via Zoom           

Don Canfield (University of Southern Denmark)
"Animals, Algae, Oxygen and Evolution"

Monday, November 14, 2022 - room 152 SHD 

GLG/IES/GEO Alumni Career Panel

 

Notice:
If you would like to be added to our seminar notice mailing list, please contact Gail Burger by phone at 513-529-8183 or via email: burgerge@miamioh.edu.