Lecture Series

Fall 2020/2021 Lecture Series

Departmental Seminar Series: Unless otherwise stated, seminars are held at 4:25 pm.  NOTE:  this year's seminar series is going to be given by all Miami University, Department of Geology and Environmental Science Alums, and will be virtual in nature due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. Contact Cathy Edwards at 513-529-3216 or edwardca@miamioh.edu for information about accessing the talks.

Monday, August 24, 2020

Jerry Bellian (Ovintiv)
"Beaches to Basements: a Random Walk Through Time"

Monday, August 31, 2020

Darin Snyder (Idaho National Laboratory)
"From igneous petrology to nuclear forensics, a geologists
experience at the Idaho National Laboratory"

Monday, September 14, 2020

Emily Fisher (Aera Energy LLC)
"Energy from Rocks:  Evaluating the depositional environment
and structural framework in the subsurface, an integrated approach
to evaluating McKittrick, California"

Monday, September 21, 2020

Sean Kelly (Sibanye-Stillwater)
"A Career in Mining: Taking the Scenic Route"

Monday, September 28, 2020

Sam Mutiti (Georgia College)
"Using Earth Sciences to Serve Underrepresented Communities"

Monday, October 5, 2020                

Albert Dickas (Univ. of Wisconsin-Superior)
TBD
 

Monday, October 12, 2020               

Emily Winer Tully 
"An Unconventional Path to Becoming a Professional Planner"

Monday, October 19, 2020               

Laura Crimmins Wilson (Case Western Reserve)
TBD
  

Monday, November 2, 2020                 

Andy Cyr (United States Geological Survey)
"Adventures in Dirt Mapping"

Monday, November 9, 2020                 

Alumni Career Panel
Stephany Sit, Fred Partey & Josh Silverstein

 

 ro

Notice:
If you would like to be added to our seminar notice mailing list, please contact Cathy Edwards by phone at 513-529-3216 or via email: edwardca@MiamiOh.edu.