Monthly Close Schedule

General Accounting will close each fiscal period in Banner on the 5th business day of the following
calendar month. Remember Saturday, Sunday and Holidays are not considered business days, for actual closing dates please see the chart below.

All month end entries and uploads must be submitted to General Accounting by the 2nd business day
of the following month. If your entries are not submitted by this deadline, the entry will be posted to
the following month. 

All entries and uploads must be posted by 12p.m. on the day of close. An email will be sent
from GeneralAccounting@MiamiOH.edu the day before close as a reminder of this posting deadline. 

As a reminder, the monthly finance reports are no longer sent via email. You will need to log into
Oracle Business Intelligence (BI) to run the monthly reports from the Financial Information dashboard.

The BI system updates one day after Banner so the final numbers will be available in BI the following
business day after close.

Effective 7/1/2020, we will be changing the JV and upload policy.  As of FY21, departments will have 90 days from the date of the expense to submit requests for corrections or reclassification between accounts. Please note that General Accounting will deny requests that are beyond the 90 days.  Exceptions may be made only if there is a valid reason, such as an expense charged to a fund that is not permitted.  An example of this would be alcohol charged to an operating/E&G fund.

The labor redistribution policy will also be changing effective 7/1/2020.  As of FY21, Labor Redistributions must be submitted within 90 days and will be processed in the appropriate month. If they are older than 90 days, they will not be processed. Labor Redistributions for May and June expenses ONLY must be submitted by July 2. Any received after the deadline will be processed in July of the following fiscal year provided they are within the 90-day requirement.

Monthly Close Schedule
Month To Be Closed in 2021 Deadline for Data to General Accounting Date for Banner Fiscal Period to be Closed
January Tuesday, February 2, 2021 Friday, February 5, 2021
February Tuesday, March 2, 2021 Friday, March 5, 2021
March Friday, April 2, 2021 Wednesday, April 7, 2021
April Tuesday, May 4, 2021 Friday, May 7, 2021
May Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Monday, June 7, 2021
June Friday, July 2, 2021 Friday, July 9, 2021
July Tuesday, August 3, 2021 Friday, August 6, 2021
August Thursday, September 2, 2021 Wednesday, September 8, 2021
September Monday, October 4, 2021 Thursday, October 7, 2021
October Tuesday, November 2, 2021 Friday, November 5, 2021
November Thursday, December 2, 2021 Tuesday, December 7, 2021
December Tuesday, January 4, 2022 Friday, January 7, 2022