Distance Learning

Dr. Mert Bal teaching a distance learning class in IVDL classroom
 A professor showing 2 students a robot.

Miami University offers Bachelor Completion program in four concentrations, Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECET), as well as Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology concentration (EMET), Mechanical Engineering Technology (MET) and Robotics Engineering Technology (RET) to students all across the state of Ohio.

Advantages of Distance Learning to Online Classes

We believe that online courses, in general, are not suitable for engineering. That is why we Go Distance. Distance Learning is different from Online Classes in several ways. In distance learning:

  • You can have face-to-face interaction with the instructors virtually all the time during the lecture.
  • Our instructors directly deliver the lectures to you and other students. We do NOT just post the lecture materials for you to read on your own.
  • You will receive the lab equipment at your local college and will perform the experiments with the direct and live supervision of your instructor at Miami University.

Quick Facts About our Distance Learning

  • Miami University delivers 13 engineering technology courses (34 distance credits) to students enrolled at the colleges listed above.
  • Students take remaining courses (which include bridge courses and the Ohio Transfer Module) at their home campus. See individual college articulation agreements for details.
  • ENT distance learning courses are generally offered Monday-Thursday in the evening via interactive video conferencing and web-supported technology.

Partnered Colleges

At the following selected college partner locations, our Bachelor Completion program is offered via the Distance Learning method.

  1. Cincinnati State and Community College, Middletown, OH
  2. Columbus State Community College, Columbus, OH
  3. Edison State Community College, Piqua, OH
  4. Northwest State Community College, Archbold, OH
  5. Rhodes State College, Lima, OH
  6. Shawnee State University, Portsmouth, OH
  7. Sinclair Community College, Dayton, OH
  8. Southern State Community College, Hillsboro, OH
  9. Terra Community College, Fremont, OH
  10. Washington State Community College, Marietta, OH
  11. Zane State College, Zanesville, OH