University Senate action Oct. 23

On Monday, October 23, 2017 University Senate heard reports from:

  • Ann Haley MacKenzie, Teacher Education
  • Dawn Fahner and Karen Wilson, Human Resources
  • Shelly Jarrett Bromberg, Chair, Senate Executive Committee

Items received on the Senate consent calendar included:

  • Curriculum Report
  • Council on Diversity and Inclusion Minutes – September 1, 2017 
  • Council on Diversity and Inclusion Minutes – September 15, 2017 
  • Graduate Council Minutes – August 31, 2017
  • Academic Policy Committee Minutes – September 22, 2017
  • Conferral of Degrees 
  • Deactivation of Degree Programs
  • Graduate Handbook-1.1-Certificate language 
  • Graduate Handbook 4.5.B_Doctoral Examining Committees
Minutes of the University Senate October 9, 2017, meeting were approved.
With the approval of the October 9, 2017 minutes, University Senate endorsed the following resolution:

SR 18-01

October 9, 2017

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that University Senate endorse proposed revisions to the Awards and Recognition Committee, as set forth below:

In the ByLaws of University Senate, 6.C.2.a., regarding Committee composition and membership of the Awards and Recognition Committee, the faculty composition will include tenured faculty at the rank of full professor. The composition of the membership will be changed to include at least one member with expertise in arts or humanities; at least one with expertise in social sciences, education, or business; and at least one with expertise in science, math, technology or engineering.  Efforts will be made to select members from across academic divisions and who have experience with promotion and tenure reviews.  For the Distinguished Service award, a classified or unclassified staff member shall serve as an additional voting member.