Dean search committees named for engineering and business

Deans of two academic divisions at Miami have announced that they will be completing their terms in 2020.

Dean Marek Dollár of the College of Engineering and Computing (CEC) will finish his term July 31, 2020, and return to the faculty. Dean Marc Rubin of the Farmer School of Business (FSB) will complete his term June 30, 2020, and retire from the university.

Jason Osborne, Miami’s provost and executive vice president of academic affairs, thanked both deans for their service to Miami’s academic mission.

“These two exceptional scholars and leaders have served Miami with excellence and distinction,” Osborne said. “We thank them for their vision and dedication in helping advance this great university.”

Miami has engaged the national search firm of Storbeck/Pimentel to assist with both searches. The firm will actively engage with faculty and staff and update the Miami community on its progress. Osborne has appointed search committees for each of the openings.

Cathy Bishop-Clark, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science, will chair the search committee for the dean of the CEC. The committee also includes:

  • Daniela Inclezan – computer science and software engineering
  • Peter Jamieson – electrical and computer engineering
  • Norm Krumpe – computer science and software engineering
  • Valeria Mokrenko – graduate student
  • Marshall Philmon – undergraduate student
  • Amit Shukla – mechanical and manufacturing engineering
  • Kumar Singh – mechanical and manufacturing engineering
  • Nicole Smith, NASA – CEC External Advisory Council
  • Jessica Sparks – chemical, paper and biomedical engineering
  • Micki White – administrative services, CEC

Liz Mullenix, dean of the College of Creative Arts, will chair the FSB dean search committee, which also includes:

  • Brian Ballou – accountancy
  • Robert Dahlstrom – marketing
  • Lisa Ellram – management
  • Allison Farmer – information systems and analytics
  • Joel Harper – finance
  • George Heath, Global Finishes Group, Sherwin-Williams Co. (retired) – FSB Business Advisory Council
  • BriAuna Keys – graduate student
  • Collin O’Sullivan – undergraduate student
  • Prosper Raynold – economics
  • Jan Taylor – marketing
  • Michelle Thomas – business student organizations and diversity, FSB