Miami’s Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation honored with STEM award

insight-into-diversdity-logoMiami University’s Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) has been named a recipient of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine’s 2020 Inspiring Programs in STEM Award.

The Inspiring Programs in STEM Award honors colleges and universities that encourage and assist students from underrepresented groups to enter the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

LSAMP is an honors program funded by the National Science Foundation. It aims to significantly increase the number of students underrepresented in STEM fields. At Miami, LSAMP staff provide programming to recruit, retain and graduate these students in STEM majors. Students are invited to join the program in their first year.

“We know that many STEM programs are not always recognized for their success, dedication and mentorship for underrepresented students,” says Lenore Pearlstein, owner and publisher of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine."

Miami’s LSAMP program offers faculty-mentored undergraduate research opportunities, stipends for participation, conference travel costs, academic advising and graduate school preparation, among other benefits.  Jim Kiper, chair and professor of computer science and engineering, said "the support that these (LSAMP) students have received from a dedicated cohort of faculty and staff, led by Kim Collins, has resulted in a significant increase in their retention and success rate."

At Miami, LSAMP is jointly overseen by faculty and staff in the College of Arts and Science, the College of Engineering and Computing, the Farmer School of Business and the College of Creative Arts. The program started in the Fall of 2014 with 17 students and continues to grow every year.

It is part of the Ohio LSAMP Alliance, which includes 11 Ohio universities and community colleges. Congressionally mandated in 1991, LSAMP is named after Louis Stokes, U.S. representative from Cleveland, Ohio, 1969-1999.

“We want to honor the schools and organizations that have created programs that inspire and encourage young people who may currently be in or are interested in a future career in STEM. We are proud to honor these programs as role models to other institutions of higher education and beyond,” Pearlstein said.

Get to know two Miami LSAMP students and their research: 
  • Hope Kirby, 2020 Goldwater Scholar and 2020-2021 Beckman Scholar.
  • Krystina Hird (Miami '19)  2018-2019 Beckman Scholar.