Ohio Public Leaders Fellowship Program

Ohio Public Leader Fellows
Application Deadline: 


The Ohio Public Leaders Fellowship Program provides students with a practical, co-curricular experience that enhances their understanding of the inner-workings of state and local government institutions. Students emerge prepared for success in the arena of public leadership while host organizations benefit from engaging with outstanding young talent.

The Ohio Public Leaders accepted into this program receive paid fellowships ($1,000-$2,500) and are selectively assigned to state or local government institutions or to related public or non-profit agencies throughout Ohio. The fellowships support special projects that are designed to meet the needs of partner agencies and the professional interests of Ohio Public Leaders.

With the support of the OPL Advisory Board, faculty, and professional mentors, our students typically complete their Ohio Public Leader fellowship during the four-week Winter Term. Over 100 Miami University students have been awarded Ohio Public Leader Fellowships.

OPL Advisory Board:

Bradley M. Bundy
Vice President for University Advancement 
Miami University

Andrew M. Dudas '05
Budget Director,
Office of Budget & Evaluation,
City of Cincinnati, OH

Nick A. Selvaggio '88
Champaign County, OH 
Court of Common Pleas

Megan Statt-Blake '03
Community Development Director,
City of Wyoming, OH

Tim Ingram
Health Commissioner, Retired
Hamilton County Public Health (OH)

Cheryl Subler '91
Managing Director, Policy 
County Commissioners Association of Ohio

Kim Cutlip
Executive Director,
Scioto Foundation (OH)

Dana McDaniel '87
City Manager
City of Dublin, OH

Patrick Titterington '87
Director of Public Safety & Services,
City of Troy, OH

Timothy S. Derickson '84
Assistant Director,
Ohio Department of Agriculture

Rick Platt '89
President and CEO,
Heath-Newark-Licking County Port Authority (OH)

J. Christopher Woolard '01
Senior Executive Director, Center for Performance and Impact
Ohio Department of Education

Mike Dittoe '05
High Bridge Consulting
Columbus, OH

Nicole Bent ‘05
Deputy Director,
Office of the State Auditor-Ohio

Christopher D. Gilbert '00
Township Administrator,
Springfield Township, OH

Philip A. Russo, Jr.
Center Director, Emeriti
CPMRA-Miami University

Jane Howington ‘95
City Manager, Retired
City of Hudson, OH

John A. Jones '99
Police Chief
City of Oxford, OH

Andy Shifflette '98
Government Affairs Advisor,
Kegler Brown Hill + Ritter
Columbus, OH

Michael McNamara '98
Director of Community and Economic Development,
Clermont County, OH

Lisa Patt McDaniel '87
Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio
Columbus, Ohio

Christopher Pozzuto
City Manager,
City of Springboro, OH

Cherise Fanno Burdeen '93
Senior Fellow
National Legal Aid & Defender Association
Washington, D.C.

Mike Hinnenkamp
Executive Director,
Ohio Plan


The Ohio Public Leaders Fellowship is an initiative of the Center for Public Management and Regional Affairs housed within the Department of Political Science.


2022 Ohio Public Leader Fellows: Summer Term

2022 Ohio Public Leader Fellows: Winter Term

2020 Ohio Public Leader Fellows: Fall Term

2020 Ohio Public Leader Fellows: Winter Term

2019 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2018 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2017 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2016 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2015 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2014 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

2013 Ohio Public Leader Fellows: